新到所揭露Sun Shucun的网页

所有跟贴·加跟贴·新语丝读书论坛

送交者: 老中乙号 于 2007-09-28, 20:43:56:

http://biosci.nju.edu.cn/professor.php?prof_id=19
My scientific interests are centered on evolutionary ecology, especially plant functional traits in relation to animal behavior. Within this context, together with my colleagues and students, I have developed several research themes. A plant is an aggregation of many modules and herbivory is hypothesized to be one of the most important selective forces resulting in such construction. From field investigation, I collected data on leaf size, leaf shape, and leaf phenology, as well as insect damage intensity and pattern. By indoor greenhouse experimenting, I studied plant ecophysiological responses to simulated insect defoliation. I believe that such hypothesis testing and data analysis will better our understanding the relationship between plants and animals. Recently, with achievements in theoretical ecology, I am trying to link traditional plant life history strategy theories, allometric growth law, and ecological stoichiometry, aiming to explore a fundamental mechanism underlying plant species diversity.