贾德·鲁本菲尔德答《三联生活周刊》记者问

所有跟贴·加跟贴·新语丝读书论坛

送交者: 李继宏 于 2006-12-21, 17:28:43:

注:问题的中文为《三联生活周刊》记者所提,英文是我译的;答案的英文是Jed Rubenfeld所写,中文是我译的。

1.I am told that The Interpretation of Murder is revised greatly from its previous draft, The Name of Action, can you tell me the differences between them?
我听说《谋杀的解析》初稿叫《行动的名义》,改动很大,你能说说它们的区别吗?

"The Name of Action" was the book's original title. Those words, "the name of action," come from Hamlet's famous "To be or not to be" soliloquy. One of the differences between the original manuscript and the final book was that the original had more Hamlet in it -- more about Shakespeare. There was also more about the theory of psychoanalysis and the "Oedipus Complex." Because I'm a professor, I think I made the original manuscript too academic. The Interpretation of Murder is my first novel; I had a lot to learn.
《行动的名义》是这本书原来的名字。“行动的名义”这几个字出自哈姆雷特那段to be or not to be的著名独白。初稿和定稿的一个区别是,初稿关于哈姆雷特的内容更多——关于莎士比亚的内容更多。有关心理分析和“俄狄普斯情结”的内容也更多。因为我是个大学教授,我觉得我初稿写得太学术了。《谋杀的解析》是我第一本小说。我要学习的地方还有很多。

2.In your book, scenes change like TV show. Did you consult your brother Vik Rubenfeld? In my point of view, your book is not easy to read because the scenes change a little fast. What do you think?
在你的书中,场景变换像电视连续剧。你请教过你的兄弟维克·鲁本菲尔德吗?在我看来,你的书场景变换有点快,不太好读。你的意见呢?

I'm sorry you think so. Many readers, I think, like the fast pace. My brother, Vik Rubenfeld, is a very successful film and television producer. His television show, "Early Edition," was a big hit. I didn't consult him in writing this book, but I did get his advice when Warner Brothers, the movie studio, became interested in The Interpretation of Murder. In September, 2006, a few days after the book was published, my agents reached an agreement with Warner Brothers, which bought the movie rights. Perhaps the fast scene changes will work well in a movie.