告诉大家30%是怎么来的 ZT

所有跟贴·加跟贴·新语丝读书论坛

送交者: jxh 于 2006-09-05, 00:03:37:

告诉大家30%是怎么来的

Columbia Chemist Says:

September 1st, 2006 at 11:41 am
Dear Peter:

I have been following this blog since late June after the many news report in China about he Cao-Zhu paper, because I wanted to get some insight from the mathematicians abroad. I’m not in mathematics, but I have been inerested in history and sociology of science for years. For your inxxxxation, I got my Ph.D in chemisry from Columbia, and now I’m a chemistry professor at Beijing.

Here I’d like to share with you of some first-hand inxxxxation about the Chinese coverage of the Yau press conference on June 3, 2006, and the controversial over it.

My wife is the reporter at the Sciencetime at Beijing who was one of the few reporters at the press conference given by Professor S. T. Yau on June 3, 2006. She has all the original materials including the press release given to them by Professor Yau on June 3, and the recording of the press conference.

If people read those reports on the ScienceTimes, he would agree that the reports by my wife and her colleagues at the ScienceTimes have been the most truthful, fair and authorative on the whole affair so far. If these articles have been availabe in English, many controversy can be easily clarified. Unfortunaely, these reports have generally not been picked up by most people. (Bad news travels fast.)

Since we learned the New Yorker Magazine (I used to be a subscriber of the NYM when I was a New Yorker) article by Sylvia Nasar and David Gruber, my wife and I were both stunned by the untrutful accounts of many of the events. The account in the NYM article about the media coverage in China only picked up some obviously controversial reports, but never really did serious research on the whole thing. I have to say it is absolutely bad jounalism, and is an indication of lack of professionalism.

Here are some things I may help to clarify.